State of the Blog!

Hi everyone. It has been a while since I last updated. Life gets to you sometimes, and there’s not much you can do. And life will continue to get to me for at least another few weeks here as I am getting married on June 8th! “Getting to me” in this case is a good thing, but it certainly won’t help me write blog posts.

So although I probably won’t be on here to update with any regularity until after I’ve settled into my new home with my lovely then-to-be-wife, I do want to throw out a bone for everyone to chew on until I actually churn out some meaningful content. Aside from some back-end reorganizing tasks, there are some big things coming through the pipe with this blog.

I’m going to kick off some meta-blog projects

“What is a meta-blog project?” you might ask. It is a term I just created to describe some of the things I want to do, that’s what. There are a good number of Christian bloggers who advocate similar positions to my own, but as it stands, we appear as individual dissenters making up whatever we want in order to suit our emotivist fancies. The Christian position which may support gay marriage, raise its eyebrows to Biblical literalism, and deny the infallibility of Scripture seems like heresy to some, and with these ideas so foreign to many people, it is only right that they should be skeptical.

In reality, though, it is what we have learned from others that has led us to where we are, and I count it as important that we stand together, diverse as we may be. The concrete details of the project are still in the works, but I have a general idea of what I want to accomplish. I can’t understate the importance of standing together. We are not crazy, and we are not heretics, but unless we unite, we will forever appear as a bunch of lone would-be prophets shouting at the world.

First on the agenda is to have a back-and-forth review process of sorts. Blogs are notorious for just being some guy’s opinion, not something which has to stand up to any sort of critical review. I don’t mean to say that we should replicate the scientific method in the blogosphere, but there are a lot of good things which can come from the opinions of multiple people. This may be content review prior to publishing or just a more visible back-and-forth between bloggers.

Second is to have an identifiable network of contributors. I don’t mean that we all write articles through the same blogging service; rather, I mean to suggest that we announce our  participation in the project and perhaps tack up a small symbol with a link to a central page describing the project.

This is a pretty huge undertaking, and it’s going to take a lot of cooperation and technical knowledge, but it will be a worthwhile endeavor which may have the potential to transform the Christian landscape in America for the better.

Watch out for more news on the project! Also, if you are interested in participating, please comment below or contact me otherwise. In addition to needing bloggers, if you want to contribute to ideas for web design, a logo, or perhaps some guiding philosophies, you’re also welcome to post.

The way WordPress handles comments, if you comment, I will get your email address if you use your real email to make the comment. It will remain private. I will message all interested (BCC) with further details to try to kick off the first phases of the project.

Stick around! There are some exciting things underway. If you would like to keep abreast of information on these things, don’t forget to subscribe.

About Chris Attaway

Raised in the digital wilderness of the pre-Internet 2.0 era, Chris Attaway is a true gamer and Internet citizen. After a stint studying computer science, his life got flipped turned upside down, and he ended up studying philosophy to help him sort out his life. Now the black sheep in a family of engineers, he has set out to get his footing in the world of freelance journalism. With interests ranging from gaming and technology to LGBT rights, race and politics, Chris is a diverse and skilled writer who always tries to give a fair shake to his subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of the Blog!

  1. Congrats on your impending marriage. May you both be happy!

Leave a Reply

